Public Service Information
The Cuming County Sheriff’s Office No Longer Accepts Checks, Cash
for gun permits may be made at the Sheriff's Office Monday through Friday, 8:30
AM to 4:00 PM, excluding
This permit is to
PURCHASE A FIREARM ONLY. For
information on the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit Act LB454,
contact your local office of the Nebraska State Patrol, or visit
applying for a gun permit
in Cuming County must be a resident of the county and have a valid Nebraska
photo ID or Nebraska driver's license, must be at least 21
years of age, and have no felony convictions. A criminal history check will be
conducted when the application is made. Providing fraudulent information on an
a permit is a felony offense.
Click here for an example of a Fire
Arms Purchase Permit Application
Gun Permits are $5.00
(non-refundable) and are good for 3
Application For Emergency Red Light Permit
A rotating or flashing light
or lights in combination with a blue light or lights may be displayed on any
motor vehicle operated by any volunteer or peace officer
anywhere in this state while actually en route to the scene of a fire or other
emergency requiring his of her services as a volunteer firefighter or peace
officer but only after its use has been authorized in writing by the county
sheriff. Application for the permit shall be made in writing to the sheriff on
the forms prescribed by the Superintendent of Law Enforcement and Public Safety.
The permit shall be carried at all times in the vehicle named in the permit.
The sheriff may at any time revoke such permit upon showing of abuse thereof or
upon receipt of notice from the applicant's superior that the holder thereof is
no longer an active volunteer firefighter or peace officer. Any person whose
permit has been revoked shall upon demand surrender it to the sheriff or his or
her authorized agents.
Click here for
Emergency Red Light Permit
Driver's License Examinations
Driver's license examiners are at
The Cuming County Court House
Meeting Room in
West Point every Friday, excluding holidays. Between the hours of
9:15 am to 12:00 noon and 1:00 pm to 4:30 pm.
Applicant fingerprints are taken
Monday through Friday 8:30 am to 4:00 pm. Appointments are not necessary but
walk-ins will be forced to wait until a deputy is free.
There is a $10.00 charge for
Motor Vehicle Title Inspections
Motor vehicle title inspections are
necessary when licensing a vehicle in Nebraska which has an out-of-state title.
The vehicle and the title must be presented to the Cuming County Sheriff's Office for
inspection before a Nebraska title will be issued.
Inspections are conducted at the
Sheriff's Office Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM, excluding legal
holidays. The inspection shall consist of inspection of the VIN plate,
manufacturer's federal sticker, odometer reading, and other pertinent
There is a $10 charge for inspections
payable to the Cuming County Sheriff's Office.
The Cuming County Sheriff's Office has the responsibility of serving certain
court documents that pertain to domestic situations. Among these are Child
Custody Orders, Harassment Protection Orders, Domestic Abuse Protection Orders,
and Show Cause Protection Orders. Serving these domestic related papers is a
priority for the Sheriff's Office, and it attempts to accomplish service in the
most prompt and efficient way possible.
Domestic Court Orders
Child Custody OrdersOrders for
Temporary Child Custody issue from the District Court. The order states that a
party in an action be granted physical custody of a minor child or children. It
demands that the party being served the order relinquish custody to the
petitioning party. The Sheriff's Office will serve these orders, but unless the
judge issuing the order specifically directs the Sheriff's Office to facilitate
the return of the child or children, deputies will not become
involved in the transfer of custody nor will they stand by while the transfer
takes place. Requests by the petitioner to accompany deputies in the service of
these orders are not granted unless certain exigent circumstances exist. Past
experience has shown that the presence of the petitioner during service can
escalate the potential for danger.
There are two distinct types of Protection Orders; Harassment Protection Orders
and Domestic Abuse Protection Orders. Each have different requirements for
issuance and are granted upon a judge's acceptance of the merits of the
petitioner's application. Penalties for violation of either type of Protection
Order are similar. If the application is unclear, or raises questions as to its
merit, the judge will issue a Protection Order to Show Cause which sets a
hearing before he/she will decide whether or not to issue a Protection Order.
The Sheriff's Office does not have the forms necessary to obtain
a Protection Order. However, they are available at the Cuming County District
Court Clerk's Office.
- Harassment Protection Orders may be granted against any
person harassing the petitioner that has engaged in a "willful course of
conduct" which has frightened the petitioner. Behaviors can include repeated
telephone calls, stalking, and detention.
- Domestic Abuse Protection Orders may be granted against a
spouse, former spouse, a current or former roommate, a person that you have
a child with, your child, or a relative. A petitioner must be able to show
that this person has been physically violent or has threatened physical
violence against the petitioner and caused her/him to fear physical harm by
them. Under certain circumstances, temporary child custody may be addressed
as part of the order.
- Protection Order to Show Cause directs the responding
party to appear in court to "show cause" why a protection order should not
be issued against him/her. Failure to do so will result in the issuance of a
Protection Order. Show cause orders can be issued in both harassment and
domestic abuse situations.
The Sheriff's Office requires certain information to effect service of a
Protection Order. If the information is not provided, the chances of service are
greatly reduced. Service is necessary on any ex parte order of protection before
it can take effect. Please make sure all information provided in the protection
order application is complete and accurate. If any new information is obtained,
please notify the Sheriff's Office at (402)372-6019 so it can update its
records. If a photograph of the respondent is available, it may assist the
deputy in identifying the party to be served. The Sheriff's Office is unable,
however, to return any photographs.
The Sheriff's Office will not call the petitioner when the Protection Order
has been served. It is her/his responsibility to check on service by calling
(402)372-6019 during regular business hours. Please allow time for the deputies
to attempt service. It is advisable to wait until the day after receiving the
order to check. Repeated calls during business hours will not expedite the
service of the order which already has a top service priority.
If the Protection Order has not been served within 14 days after
issuance, it must be returned to the Court. It may be issued again if new
information is provided by the Court.
There are no service fees for the processing and service of Protection Orders.
Vacating the Order
A petitioner no longer desiring the Protection Order to remain in effect must
petition the court to withdraw it. The Sheriff's Office cannot stop service
attempts or return the order without hearing from the court that the Order has
District Court Clerk's Office: (402)372-6004
West Point Police Department:(402)372-2415
Cuming County Sheriff's Office non-emergency: (402)372-6019
Emergency Law Enforcement: 911
If you have questions regarding enforcement of your Protection Order please
contact your local law enforcement agency. If you are in need of emergency
assistance, please call 9-1-1.
Identity theft begins when someone else obtains your "identifying
information." This includes
your name, address, date-of-birth, social security number or maiden
Those who obtain
this information can then act as an imposter, using your information to
accounts, deplete your savings, purchase automobiles or apply for loans.
HERE FOR IDENTITY COMPLAINT THEFT PACKET